The Statistics of the NEXTEL Cup Series

The Statistics of the NEXTEL Cup Series


The youngest winner in the history of the NEXTEL series was Bill Rexford, who won in 1950 at the tender age of 23 years old. It was his only career win. In the modern history of the race, Jeff Gordon is the youngest winner. He won in 1995 when he was just 24 years old. On the other end of the age spectrum, the oldest winner is Bobby Allison. In 1983, he won at the age of 45. He turned 46 shortly after.


Winning apparently runs in the family, at least some families. Father and son Ned and Dale Jarrett both won as did Lee and Richard Petty. Terry and Bobby Labonte, brothers, were also both winners. These are the only family members to claim the title.


The amounts of teammates to win the NEXTEL Cup series are few and far between. They are Terry Labonte, Jeff Gordon, and Jimmie Johnson (with Hendrick Motorsports), Kurt Busch and Matt Kenseth (with Roush Racing), and Bobby Labonte and Tony Stewart (with Joe Gibbs Racing).


Only one person has won three times in a row. Cale Yarborough won in 1976, 1977, and 1978. He, along with Tony Stewart, was also one of the only people to finish last in the Daytona 500 and go on to win the NEXTEL Cup series title later that season.


No driver has ever gone the entire season without winning a race and still won the championship. However, four drivers have won only a single series and still won the title. They were Benny Parsons, Bill Rexford, Ned Jarrett, and Matt Kenseth.


Richard Petty remains the winningest driver for the NEXTEL Cup series. In 1967, he finished with 27 wins out of 48 races. This winning percentage is viewed as unbelievable by NASCAR drivers and fans alike.